# AI video editors in 2026: what they actually see

Canonical URL: https://getvidiyo.app/blog/ai-video-editors-2026-what-they-actually-see
Last updated: 2026-10-08
Author: Ajay Pawriya (https://getvidiyo.app/about)
Published: 2026-10-08
Category: Research

> TL;DR: We reviewed 13 AI video editors on 8 October 2026. Five state that their AI looks at video frames; the rest decide from the transcript or the audio, or don't say. Five let you run the AI on a plan you already pay for, four bill AI in credits, and five say footage is processed on your own computer.

"AI video editor" now covers everything from a silence remover to an agent that builds a whole edit from a sentence. The marketing sounds similar, so we looked at one question that separates them: what does the AI actually get to look at before it cuts? Then three practical ones: where your footage goes, how the AI is paid for, and what it runs on. This is a snapshot dated 8 October 2026.

A disclosure first: we make Vidiyo, one of the editors below. We classified every product, including ours, from its own public pages, and we say where others are stronger.

## What do AI video editors actually look at?

AI video editors look at one of three things: the audio, the transcript, or frames of the video. Audio-only tools find silence by level. Transcript-based tools decide cuts from words. Frame-aware tools also look at images of the video, which lets them check visual problems that words can't describe, like a caption over a face.

The difference matters most after the first cut. Removing pauses and fillers works well from audio and text. Captions, zooms, layouts and graphics are visual, and an AI that can't see them can't check them. Our explainer on [transcript-based vs frame-aware editing](https://getvidiyo.app/blog/transcript-based-vs-frame-aware-ai-video-editing) goes into what each approach catches.

## How do the main AI video editors compare?

Thirteen editors split into three groups: established cloud editors with AI features, single-purpose cleanup tools, and newer agent-native editors where you edit by talking to an AI. The table records what each vendor states on 8 October 2026. "Not stated" means we couldn't find it on their own pages.

| Editor | What the AI looks at | Where footage is processed | How AI is paid for | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Descript (Underlord) | Transcript and frames ("media understanding") | Cloud: projects and media sync to Descript | Subscription with monthly AI credits and media hours; free plan with 100 one-time credits | Mac, Windows, web |
| CapCut | Per-feature AI tools (captions, cutouts, script to video); we found no chat editing agent | Not stated | Pro subscription; AI features use credits | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Windows, web, Android |
| Gling | Transcript ("transcribes your content, analyzes the text") | Not stated | Subscription metered in hours of AI-edited media (free plan: 1 hour a month) | Desktop: Mac, Windows |
| Opus Clip | Frames, audio and transcript (ClipAnything); free plan clips by spoken words only | Cloud (web app; you upload) | Subscription with credits; Free, Starter $15/mo, Pro $29/mo | Web |
| Recut | Audio (finds silence); no AI agent | Not stated | $129 once or $15/mo | Mac, Windows |
| TimeBolt | Audio for silence; AI transcription for filler words | Local ("files never leave your device") | $17/mo, $97/yr or $347 lifetime; filler detection $0.03 per minute | Mac, Windows |
| ClipsPal | Transcript only ("Only the transcript goes to the AI you picked") | Local media and transcription; transcript to the AI you pick | $49 once (rising as licences sell) plus your Claude Code, Codex or OpenCode plan, or a local model | Mac (Apple Silicon, macOS 14+) |
| ChatCut | Footage, per ChatCut ("AI understands your footage"); method not stated | Not stated | Credits; free plan with 5 credits, paid plans from 200 credits a month | Web, Mac, Windows; plugins for ChatGPT, Claude Code, Codex |
| ButterCut | Transcripts (WhisperX) and contact sheets | Local | Free (noncommercial licence) or Pro $49/yr, plus your Claude Code plan | Apple Silicon Macs; exports XML to pro editors |
| video-use (Browser Use) | Transcript plus filmstrip and waveform images at decision points | Transcription via the ElevenLabs API; cutting local with ffmpeg | Free (MIT) plus your coding agent and ElevenLabs usage | Command line with Python and ffmpeg |
| OpenCut | Editor only today; a rewrite adds an MCP server for AI agents | Not applicable | Free (MIT) | Web, desktop, mobile (rewrite targets) |
| PandaStudio | Transcript ("Edit by transcript"); frame use not stated | Local-first | Your ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini or Kimi account, plus $19/mo or lifetime from $99 | Mac (Apple Silicon, Intel), Windows |
| Vidiyo (ours) | Transcript, frames it picks, and measured faces, captions and loudness | Local editing, transcription and render; transcript excerpts and chosen frames go to your AI plan | Free during invite-only beta, plus your Claude Pro/Max or ChatGPT plan | Mac (Apple Silicon, macOS 14+) |

## Which AI video editors run on your own Claude or ChatGPT plan?

Five of the thirteen let you run the AI on a plan you already pay for: ClipsPal, ButterCut, video-use, PandaStudio and Vidiyo. That means no second AI subscription and no credits to top up; usage counts against your provider's limits instead. Two of the five, ButterCut and video-use, are developer tools that run inside a coding agent.

ChatCut sits in between. It has plugins for ChatGPT, Claude Code and Codex, but its own AI work is billed in credits. Four editors bill AI in credits (Descript, CapCut, Opus Clip and ChatCut), and Gling meters by hours of edited media. Recut and TimeBolt are priced as software, with TimeBolt charging per minute for filler detection.

## Which AI video editors keep footage on your computer?

Five editors say footage is processed on your own machine: TimeBolt, ClipsPal, ButterCut, PandaStudio and Vidiyo. In the agent-native ones, "local" still means something leaves the machine: the transcript, and in Vidiyo's case selected frames, go to the AI you chose. Whole video files don't.

Descript syncs projects and media to its cloud, and Opus Clip is a web app you upload to. Gling, Recut, CapCut and ChatCut don't state where processing happens on the pages we checked, so we haven't guessed. video-use is split: cutting runs locally with ffmpeg, but transcription uses the ElevenLabs API.

## Where are other editors stronger than Vidiyo?

Several are better choices for specific needs. Vidiyo is Mac-only, its timelines max out at 5 minutes, and it exports 1080p at 30 fps. If any of those rule it out, one of these may fit better. Here's where each one has a clear edge, based on its own pages.

- **Descript** runs on Mac, Windows and the web, offers 4K export on its Creator plan, and scales to teams.
- **Opus Clip** finds clips in long videos from visual, audio and sentiment cues, which suits repurposing podcasts and streams.
- **ChatCut** generates new video with models such as Seedance and Kling, which Vidiyo doesn't do.
- **TimeBolt** and **Recut** are fast, single-purpose silence removers that hand off to your existing editor; TimeBolt is built for long videos and podcasts.
- **ClipsPal** can run on a downloaded local model, so you don't need any AI plan at all.
- **PandaStudio** runs on Windows and Intel Macs and records screen, camera and remote guests.
- **ButterCut** exports to Final Cut Pro, Premiere and DaVinci Resolve for editors who finish there.
- **OpenCut** is free, open source and cross-platform.

## How does Vidiyo fit in this map?

Vidiyo is a frame-aware, agent-native Mac editor that runs on your existing Claude or ChatGPT plan. You edit by chatting; the AI reads a word-timed transcript made on your Mac, looks at rendered frames and contact sheets, and checks measured faces, caption positions and loudness after every edit. Everything it makes lands on a normal timeline you can edit by hand.

Three of the thirteen editors combine both traits, own-plan AI and stated frame access: ButterCut, video-use and Vidiyo. The other two are command-line tools for developers. If you want to try it, Vidiyo is in an invite-only beta and free while the beta runs.

## How can you check what an AI editor sees before you commit?

Run three small tests on a short clip of your own. They work with any editor that offers a trial, and they show in a few minutes whether the AI is working from the words, the sound or the picture. You'll learn more from them than from any feature list, including ours.

1. **The caption test.** Ask for captions on a clip where you sit low in the frame. Does the AI place them over your mouth, or move them clear of your face?
2. **The zoom test.** Ask for a punch-in on one line. Does it crop your forehead, and does it notice if it did?
3. **The quiet-filler test.** Record a sentence with a soft "um" in it. Does the cleanup catch it, and does it say so if it can't?

An AI that only reads the transcript usually fails the first two silently. That isn't always a problem: if you'll do captions and framing yourself, a transcript tool may be all you need.

## How did we build this table?

We read each vendor's own public pages on 8 October 2026: homepage, pricing, help docs, blog or GitHub repository. "What the AI looks at" records only what a vendor states. If a vendor doesn't say, we wrote "not stated" rather than guess, and we didn't infer cloud processing from a product being a web app unless it plainly involves uploading.

Some notes on gaps. CapCut's website returned an HTTP 451 error to our fetcher, so CapCut facts come from its App Store listing and its help pages as indexed by search. Recut's older domain didn't respond, so we used getrecut.com. We picked editors that creators commonly compare for talking-head and short-form work, plus the agent-native editors we're aware of. We didn't run every product hands-on for this table, and prices change often.

## What are the key findings to cite?

These findings are counts from the table above, as of 8 October 2026. Please cite them as "Vidiyo, AI video editors in 2026: what they actually see (8 October 2026)" with a link to this page.

1. Of 13 AI video editors reviewed, 5 state that their AI looks at video frames, not only the transcript or audio.
2. 5 of the 13 let you run the AI on a plan you already pay for, such as Claude or ChatGPT.
3. 4 of the 13 bill AI use in credits.
4. 5 of the 13 say footage is processed on your own computer.
5. Only 3 of the 13 both run on your own AI plan and state that the AI sees frames, and 2 of those are command-line developer tools.

## Honest limits

- Classifications come from each vendor's own public pages on 8 October 2026; we did not test every product hands-on for this table.
- Prices and features change often. Check each vendor's page before you buy.

## Frequently asked questions

### Which AI video editors can see the video, not just the transcript?

As of 8 October 2026, five of the 13 editors we reviewed state that their AI looks at frames: Descript (Underlord), Opus Clip (ClipAnything), ButterCut (contact sheets), video-use (filmstrip images) and Vidiyo. ChatCut says its AI understands footage but doesn't say how.

### Which AI video editors run on my own Claude or ChatGPT plan?

Five of the 13: ClipsPal, ButterCut, video-use, PandaStudio and Vidiyo. ButterCut and video-use are developer tools that run inside a coding agent. ChatCut offers plugins for ChatGPT, Claude Code and Codex but bills AI in credits.

### Which AI video editors keep footage on my computer?

TimeBolt, ClipsPal, ButterCut, PandaStudio and Vidiyo say processing happens locally. In ClipsPal and Vidiyo, the AI still receives the transcript (and in Vidiyo, selected frames) through the plan you choose. Several vendors don't state where processing happens.

### What's the difference between transcript-based and frame-aware AI editors?

Transcript-based editors decide cuts from the words, which works well for fillers, pauses and retakes. Frame-aware editors also look at images of the video, so they can check things like a caption covering a face or a crop after a zoom.

### Is this comparison biased toward Vidiyo?

We make Vidiyo, so read it with that in mind. We classified every product only from its own public pages, marked anything a vendor doesn't state as not stated, and listed where other editors are stronger.

## Related

- [Transcript-based vs frame-aware AI video editing](https://getvidiyo.app/blog/transcript-based-vs-frame-aware-ai-video-editing)
- [Agentic video editing](https://getvidiyo.app/glossary/agentic-video-editing)
- [Edit video by chatting](https://getvidiyo.app/features/chat-video-editing)
- [Best AI video editors for Mac in 2026](https://getvidiyo.app/best-ai-video-editors-for-mac)
- [Vidiyo compared with other editors](https://getvidiyo.app/compare)

## Sources

- [Descript pricing](https://www.descript.com/pricing) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [Descript: Underlord](https://www.descript.com/underlord) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [Descript: How we trained AI to see what's in videos](https://www.descript.com/blog/article/underlord-ai-can-watch-videos) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [Descript Help: Save your work to the cloud](https://help.descript.com/hc/en-us/articles/13520561812237-Save-your-work-to-the-cloud) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [CapCut on the App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/capcut-video-editor/id1500855883) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [CapCut Help: How to join CapCut Pro?](https://www.capcut.com/help/join-capcut-pro) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [CapCut Help: How can I use the credits?](https://www.capcut.com/help/how-to-use-credits) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [Gling](https://www.gling.ai/) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [Gling pricing](https://www.gling.ai/pricing) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [OpusClip pricing](https://www.opus.pro/pricing) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [OpusClip: ClipAnything](https://www.opus.pro/clipanything) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [Recut](https://getrecut.com/) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [TimeBolt](https://www.timebolt.io/) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [TimeBolt pricing](https://www.timebolt.io/pricing) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [ClipsPal](https://clipspal.com/) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [ChatCut](https://chatcut.io/) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [ChatCut pricing](https://chatcut.io/pricing) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [ChatCut on Product Hunt](https://www.producthunt.com/products/chatcut-ai-video-editor) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [ButterCut (GitHub)](https://github.com/barefootford/buttercut) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [video-use by Browser Use (GitHub)](https://github.com/browser-use/video-use) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [OpenCut (GitHub)](https://github.com/OpenCut-app/OpenCut) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [PandaStudio by WritePanda](https://writepanda.ai/) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [PandaStudio download](https://writepanda.ai/download) (accessed 2026-10-08)

Download Vidiyo for Mac (free during the beta): https://getvidiyo.app/download
